Secondary College of Languages

Connection Diversity Excellence

Telephone02 7814 2115

2021 Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards for Excellence

07 Sep 2021

2021 Minister’s and Secretary’s Awards for Excellence

Secretary's Award for Excellent Service

Miss Jannan Assaad is the receiptient of the Secretary's Award for Excellent Service. This award recognises teaching and non-teaching NSW Department of Education employees who have shown outstanding effort in improving the quality of teaching, learning outcomes and/or school environments in the NSW public education sector.

Miss Assaad is an outstanding educator, who is driven by her passionate commitment to ensuring the best learning experiences for all students at Secondary College of Languages to develop their language skills and deepen their intercultural understanding in a rich and dynamic school environment. She has developed and implemented intensive training programs for teachers across all 14 campuses in the use of innovative and effective technologies to enrich their teaching and learning programs in face-to-face and remote contexts. She fosters ingenuity and models this to all staff while encouraging them to take risks with their own professional learning and growth through technology.

To find out more about these awards, visit the Public Education Foundation website.

These Awards celebrate the exceptional work that occurs every day across NSW public education – by schools, students, teachers, employees and parents. In 2021, the standard is as high as ever and perhaps even more impressive as this work has been undertaken against the backdrop of different challenges.

NSW Minister for Education and Early Childhood Learning Sarah Mitchell said the 2021 awards highlighted the excellence underpinning the NSW public school system even as schools, students and teachers have navigated the challenges of natural disasters and a global pandemic.

“These awards reveal that regardless of the circumstances, our students, teachers, principals and the school community are always striving for learning and teaching excellence,” Ms Mitchell said.

The winners, from across NSW, were selected in the following categories:

  • Minister’s Award for Excellence in Student Achievement
  • Minister’s Award for Excellence in Teaching
  • Secretary’s Award for Excellent Service
  • Secretary’s Award for an Outstanding School Initiative
  • Secretary’s School Achievement Award
  • Public School Parent of the Year